Home | Diaries | Discussion | Chat | Tips | FAQ | Links | Donations | Search | How to change your profile
www.MyBrokenLeg.com

List all messages  |  Search this forum  |  Log In 

how much longer will my foot turn purple?
Kathski    9:01pm May 12 2010

Yep, I'm a newbie here...unfortunately...

3/31/10, while some of you were reading posts, replying, whatever - I was out skiing. Beautiful powder day - three feet at Squaw Valley ... but poor visibility, too many skiers on the slope, and a guy crashed in my path, buried in the snow. I could not see him until he was just two feet in front of my ski tips (as I skied at ~ 20 MPH). A cartwheel, a caught ski tip, and many screams later, ski patrol were on their way to pick me up.

The bright side was that I was rolled into the OR just five hours later - best to get it over with, I say. My OS explained that plates were the best solution for my 'severely comminuted distal tibia and fibula fracture.' In layman speak, that means the lower five inches of my tibia was crumbled into many pieces, while my fibula broke clean through. Both were displaced towards the inside (medially) by about an inch. No morphine for three hours. Ouch. No, make that triple OUCH, OUCH, OUCH. Well, honestly, it was a different four-letter word - any guesses???

Net result: two plates, sixteen screws, and two days in the hospital.

So it's now been six weeks. For the first three weeks, I spent nearly 24x7 lying down with my foot elevated, and for the past two weeks I've been able to sit up comfortably with my leg out straight. (My brother's lazy boy now has my name engraved on it.)

But the question is - how soon will I be able to be able to be fully upright (in the darth boot, with or without crutches) without my leg turning purple? Currently I can tolerate being fully upright for about an hour, and after that the swelling and pressure start to build.